#TIFF11 Festival Announces Canadian Film Awards And 2011 Jury Members

Oh Look! A press release:

Festival Announces Canadian Film Awards And 2011 Jury Members

Toronto – The Toronto International Film Festival® continues to recognize and support achievements in Canada’s filmmaking industry and is delighted to welcome back major prizes that recognize excellence in feature film, short film and the work of first-time feature filmmakers.

All three awards are selected by a jury of film professionals. The feature film jury consists of actor Liane Balaban (One Week, Up In Cottage Country); director Sturla Gunnarsson (Force of Nature); journalist/producer Denis Séguin (How to Start Your Own Country); and producer Gabriella Martinelli (Capri Films).

The short film jury members are Sundance programmer John Korn; filmmaker and artist Srinivas Krishna (My Name is Raj installation); and Hot Docs Programming Manager Karina Rotenstein.

“These jury members have a tough task ahead of them – selecting winners from this impressive lineup of Canadian films won’t be easy,” says Cameron Bailey, Co-Director of the Toronto International Film Festival.

The City of Toronto Award for Best Canadian Feature Film, presented annually to a Canadian filmmaker, is made possible thanks to the City of Toronto. This award includes a cash prize of $30,000. The 2010 winner was Denis Villeneuve for Incendies.

The SKYY Vodka Award for Best Canadian First Feature Film is presented annually to a Canadian filmmaker for a compelling debut feature. The award carries a cash prize of $15,000. Deborah Chow’s The High Cost of Living took the prize in 2010.

The winner of the Award for Best Canadian Short Film receives a $10,000 cash prize. The 2010 winner was Vincent Biron for Les Fleurs de l’âge.

All awards will be presented at the Festival’s Awards Reception on Sunday, September 18, 2011.

About TIFF

TIFF is a charitable cultural organization whose mission is to transform the way people see the world through film. An international leader in film culture, TIFF projects include the annual Toronto International Film Festival® in September; TIFF Bell Lightbox, which features five cinemas, major exhibitions, and learning and entertainment facilities; and innovative national distribution program Film Circuit. The organization generates an annual economic impact of $170 million CAD. TIFF Bell Lightbox is generously supported by contributors including Founding Sponsor Bell, the Province of Ontario, the Government of Canada, the City of Toronto, the Reitman family (Ivan Reitman, Agi Mandel and Susan Michaels), The Daniels Corporation, Major Sponsor and official bank RBC, Major Sponsor BlackBerry and Visa†. For more information, visit